Bangladesh T20 Captain List: The Evolution of Bangladesh Cricket in T20

Bangladesh T20 cricket history is quite interesting and inspiring. Bangladesh played their first T20 international match in 2006, against Zimbabwe at Khulna. They won the match by 43 runs, with Mashrafe Mortaza scoring 36 off 26 balls and Mohammad Abdur Razzak taking 3 wickets for 17 runs. Since then, Bangladesh has played 155 T20 matches, winning 58 and losing 94. They have also participated in some T20 World Cups, reaching the Super 10 stage in 2014 and 2016. Bangladesh has had 10 different captains in T20 cricket since their first match in 2006. In this article, we will explore the top captains who have captained Bangladesh in T20 matches, highlighting their contributions and achievements. 

1. Shakib Al Hasan: 2009-Present.

Shakib Al Hasan is a legendary all-rounder who plays for Bangladesh in T20 cricket. He is the Current captain of the Bangladesh T20I team and the leading wicket-taker in T20Is with 140 wickets. He has also scored 2382 runs in 117 T20I matches, with a highest score of 84. He is the only player to have 1000 runs, 50 wickets, and 50 catches in T20. He has captained Bangladesh in 39 T20I matches, winning 15 and losing 23 making him the most successful T20 captain for Bangladesh. He is also the first and only Bangladeshi cricketer to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

2. Mahmudullah: 2018-2022

Mahmudullah is an all-rounder who bats right-handed and bowls off-breaks. He has played for Bangladesh in all formats of the game since 2007 and is also a former T20I captain. He is the first Bangladeshi to score a World Cup hundred. Mahmudullah was the regular captain of the Bangladesh T20I team until July 2022, when he was rested for the series against Zimbabwe and replaced by Nurul Hasan Sohan. He was also dropped from the squad for the T20 World Cup 2022, which will be led by Shakib Al Hasan. He has captained Bangladesh in 43 T20I matches, winning 16 and losing 26 making him the second most successful T20 captain for Bangladesh.

3. Mashrafe Mortaza: 2014-2017

Mashrafe Mortaza was the captain of the Bangladesh T20 team from 2014 to 2017. He led the team in 28 matches, winning 10 and losing 17. He was also the captain of the Bangladesh team that reached the quarter-final of the 2015 ODI World Cup. He is widely regarded as the greatest captain for Bangladesh in ODI and T20 formats of all time. He retired from T20 internationals in 2017 but continued to play in ODIs until 2020. He is currently a Member of Parliament of Narail-2 district.

4. Mushfiqur Rahim: 2011-2014

Mushfiqur Rahim is a former Bangladesh captain and a senior wicket-keeper batsman. He made his T20I debut on November 28, 2006, against Zimbabwe. He has played 102 T20I matches and scored 1500 runs with a career-best of 72 Not Out. He captained Bangladesh in 23 T20Is, winning 08 and losing 14. His last T20I was against Sri Lanka on September 01, 2022, which Bangladesh lost by 2 wickets. He announced his retirement from T20 internationals on September 4, 2022, after Bangladesh’s exit from the Asia Cup 2022.

5. Mohammad Ashraful: 2007-2009

Mohammad Ashraful was the captain of the Bangladesh T20 team from 2007 to 2009. He is known for his flamboyant and aggressive style of batting, and has scored some memorable centuries against top teams like India, Australia, and Sri Lanka He led the team in 11 matches, winning two and losing nine. He was the youngest man to score an international test hundred. He retired from international cricket in 2013 after being banned for match-fixing.


These five Captains exemplify the heritage of Bangladesh in T20 cricket. Their performances have not only elevated the team’s success but have also inspired a new generation of cricketers. The journey of Bangladesh cricket in the T20 format continues, and they strive to establish themselves as a major force in international cricket.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *