Most Wickets in ODI Cricket for Bangladesh: A Historic Journey

The journey of Bangladesh in international cricket has been nothing short of remarkable. From their humble beginnings as an associate nation in 1977 to becoming a full member of the International Cricket Council with Test and one-day international status, Bangladesh has made significant progresses in the cricketing world. Over the years, they have produced some world-class bowlers who have played a crucial role in their success.

Bangladesh’s Early Years and Qualification for the World Cup

Bangladesh’s entry into international cricket came in 1979 when they participated in the ICC Trophy in England. Although they had mixed results in the tournament, winning 2 matches and losing 2, it was a stepping stone for their cricketing journey. The turning point for Bangladesh came in 1997 when they secured the ICC Trophy in Malaysia, which granted them entry into their first-ever ODI World Cup in 1999. It was during this World Cup that they made headlines by defeating Pakistan, a victory that marked the beginning of their ascent in international cricket.

The Rise of Bangladesh in ODI Cricket

Since their entrance in the ODI format, Bangladesh has steadily improved their performance and made a name for themselves in world cricket. One of the key factors behind their rise has been the rise of talented bowlers who have unfailingly delivered for the team. Let’s take a closer look at the top bowlers who have imprinted their names in the history books by taking the most ODI wickets for Bangladesh.

1.Shakib Al Hasan: The All-Rounder Specialist

Shakib Al Hasan, widely regarded as one of Bangladesh’s greatest cricketers, leads the team with an impressive tally of 312 wickets in 232 ODIs. Known for his extraordinary all-round skills, Shakib has been an energetic part in the Bangladesh team since his debut in 2006. With an average of 29.20 and an economy rate of 4.44, Shakib has consistently troubled batsmen with his left-arm spin. His standout performance came in the 2019 ODI World Cup, where he hypnotized the opposition with figures of 5/29 against Afghanistan.

2.Mashrafe Mortaza: The Motivating Leader

Mashrafe Mortaza, a former captain of the Bangladesh team, occupies the second spot on the list with 269 wickets in 218 ODIs. Mortaza, who made his ODI debut in 2001, has been a enchanted figure for Bangladesh cricket. Known for his fiery pace and ability to swing the ball, Mortaza has been a constant risk to opposition batsmen. His best bowling figures of 6/26 came against India in the 2007 ODI World Cup, where he played a pivotal role in Bangladesh’s historic win.

3.Abdur Razzak: The Left-Arm Spinner

Abdur Razzak, a left-arm traditional spinner, takes the third position on the list with 207 wickets in 153 ODIs. Razzak made his ODI debut in 2004 and quickly established himself as an important member of the Bangladesh team. With an average of 29.29 and an economy rate of 4.56, Razzak has been a consistent performer for his team. His ability to pick up crucial wickets at crucial times has been helpful in Bangladesh’s success.

4.Mustafizur Rahman: The Death Bowling Specialist

Mustafizur Rahman, a left-arm pacer known for his illusive cutters and yorkers, ranks fourth on the list with 141 wickets in 82 ODIs. Mustafizur burst onto the scene in 2015 and immediately made an impact with his unique bowling style. His ability to bowl accurate yorkers and variations in pace have made him a nightmare for batsmen, especially in the death overs. With an average of 24.74 and an economy rate of 5.09, Mustafizur has proven to be a valuable asset for Bangladesh.

5.Rubel Hossain: The Skiddy Pacer

Rubel Hossain, a veteran pacer, completes the top five with 129 wickets in 104 ODIs. Rubel made a memorable debut against Sri Lanka in 2009, where he picked up 4/33. Known for his skiddy pace and ability to generate bounce, Rubel has been a consistent performer for Bangladesh. With an average of 34.31 and an economy rate of 5.67, Rubel has played a crucial role in Bangladesh’s victories in the limited-overs format.

Bangladesh’s Rise in International Cricket

The success of these top wicket-takers is a evidence to Bangladesh’s rise in international cricket. Over the years, Bangladesh has shown great progress, mainly in limited-overs formats. They have achieved notable victories against prominent cricketing nations like India, Pakistan, and South Africa. Their home record has been particularly impressive, with only two ODI series losses since 2015.

In addition to the top wicket-takers, Bangladesh has a pool of talented bowlers who have contributed to their success. Players like Mohammad Rafique, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, and Taskin Ahmed have made significant contributions to the team’s bowling attack.

List of Most Wickets for Bangladesh in One Day International Cricket

Shakib Al Hasan2006-202324724112,575 2095.59,360 31729.52104
Mashrafe Mortaza2001-202021821810,827 1804.38,785 26932.6571
Abdur Razzak2004-2014153152    7,965 1327.36,065 20729.2954
Mustafizur Rahman2015-202310099    4,809 801.34,109 16025.6855
Rubel Hossain2009-2021104102    4,678 779.44,427 12934.3171
Mohammad Rafique1995-2007123122    6,294 10494,612 11938.7521
Mehidy Hasan Miraz2017-20239087    4,281 713.33,418 10133.845
Taskin Ahmed2014-20236967    3,188 531.22,876 9430.5942
Mahmudullah2007-2023228151    4,350 7253,791 8246.23
Shafiul Islam2010-20206060    2,540 423.22,529 7036.124
Khaled Mahmud1998-20067775    3,385 564.12,865 6742.761
Syed Rasel2005-20105252    2,657 442.52,051 6133.621
Tapash Baisya2002-20075656    2,608 434.42,452 5941.552
Shahadat Hossain2006-20135150    2,198 366.22,143 4745.59
Shoriful Islam2021-20233030    1,340 223.21,261 4528.023
Nazmul Hossain2004-20123837    1,649 274.51,386 4431.51
Mohammad Saifuddin2017-20212928    1,283 213.51,279 4131.191
Naeem Islam2008-20145948    1,743 290.31,407 3540.2
Taijul Islam2014-20231818      972 162    708 3023.611
Hasibul Hossain1995-20043232    1,375 229.11,338 2946.131
Hasan Mahmud2021-20232019      879 146.3    878 2831.351
Arafat Sunny2014-20151616      830 138.2    600 24252
Nasir Hossain2011-20186543    1,256 209.2    988 2441.16
Alok Kapali2002-20116949    1,452 2421,255 2452.29
Manjural Islam1999-20033434    1,591 265.11,284 2453.5
Manjural Islam Rana2003-20062523      996 166    689 2329.952
Ebadot Hossain2022-20231211      540 90    504 2222.92
Al-Amin Hossain2014-20201515      663 110.3    608 2227.632
Sohag Gazi2012-20142019      919 153.1    722 2232.811
Farhad Reza2006-20113432    1,139 189.51,017 2246.221
Mushfiqur Rahman2000-20042828    1,332 222    983 1951.73
Enamul Haque1990-20022928    1,238 206.21,083 1957
Mohammad Ashraful2001-201317540      697 116.1    661 1836.72
Mosaddek Hossain2016-20224341    1,130 188.2    969 1757

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *