The Journey of Rangpur Riders: From Underdogs to BPL Champions

The BPL, also known as Bangladesh Premier League, is a professional T20 cricket league in Bangladesh. It was first introduced in 2012 and has since become one of the most popular cricket tournaments in the world. The tournament is organized by the Bangladesh Cricket Board and features teams representing major cities in Bangladesh. Every year, teams from different cities battle it out on the field, showcasing their skills and determination. One team that has risen to prominence in recent years is the Rangpur Riders. With a string of impressive performances and a lineup of star players, this team has solidified their position as one of the most formidable contenders in the league. In this blog post, we will explore the journey, achievements, and the secrets behind their success. 

Introduction: The Rise of Rangpur Riders

The Rangpur Riders made their debut in the BPL in 2012 and have since become a force to be reckoned with. Owned by the Bashundhara Group, the team has consistently performed well, reaching the playoffs in almost every season. In fact, they clinched the championship title in the 2017 edition of the tournament, showcasing their dominance in the league.

Full squad of Rangpur Riders for BPL 2024   

One of the reasons behind the success of the Rangpur Riders is their strong lineup. The team management has always focused on assembling a strong squad, consisting of both local and international players. Over the years, the Riders have boasted some of the biggest names in cricket, including Babar Azam, Shakib Al Hasan, Nicholas Pooran and Wanindu Hasaranga.

The Rangpur Riders are known for their captivating performances on the field. With explosive batsmen and skillful bowlers, they have entertained fans with their aggressive style of play. The team has consistently posted high scores, thanks to the likes of Babar Azam and Nicholas Pooran, who are known for their ability to hit massive sixes. On the bowling front, the Riders have had some exceptional performers like Shakib Al Hasan and Wanindu Hasaranga, who have consistently taken wickets and restricted the opposition’s scoring rate. 

Rangpur Riders Full Squad

Brandon King, Babar Azam, Rony Talukdar, Nurul Hasan(w/c), Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Shamim Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Ripon Mondol, Hasan Mahmud, Shakib Al Hasan, Abu Hider Rony, Nicholas Pooran, Michael Rippon, Wanindu Hasaranga, Fazle Mahmud, Salman Irshad, Hasan Murad, Matheesha Pathirana, Ashiqur Zaman, Yasir Mohammad, Ihsanullah

The Schedule: Mark Your Calendar

Serial NoDateTeamsStadiumTime
1January 20Rangpur Riders vs Fortune BarishalShere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka07:30 AM GMT / 01:30 PM LOCAL
2January 23Sylhet Strikers vs Rangpur RidersShere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka12:30 PM GMT / 06:30 PM LOCAL
3January 26Khulna Tigers vs Rangpur RidersSylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet12:30 PM GMT / 06:30 PM LOCAL
4January 27Rangpur Riders vs Durdanto DhakaSylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet07:30 AM GMT / 01:30 PM LOCAL
5January 30Rangpur Riders vs Comilla VictoriansSylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet01:00 PM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
6February 03Sylhet Strikers vs Rangpur RidersSylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet12:30 PM GMT / 06:30 PM LOCAL
7February 06Durdanto Dhaka vs Rangpur RiderShere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka01:00 PM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
8February 10Chattogram Challengers vs Rangpur RidersShere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka07:30 AM GMT / 01:30 PM LOCAL
9February 14Comilla Victorians vs Khulna TigersZahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram12:30 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
10February 16Chattogram Challengers vs Rangpur RidersZahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram07:00 AM GMT / 01:00 PM LOCAL
11February 19Fortune Barishal vs Rangpur RidersZahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram12:30 PM GMT / 06:30 PM LOCAL
12February 20Comilla Victorians vs Rangpur RidersZahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram07:30 AM GMT / 01:30 PM LOCAL

The Unforgettable Moments

One of the most unforgettable moments in the history of Rangpur Riders was when they clinched the BPL title in 2017. Led by the charismatic Mashrafe Mortaza, the team showcased some exceptional performances throughout the tournament. It was a nail-biting final against Dhaka Dynamites, but the Riders emerged victorious, much to the delight of their fans. The joyous celebrations that followed will forever remain etched in the hearts of Rangpur Riders supporters.

The Winning Formula

Behind every successful team lies a winning formula, and the Rangpur Riders certainly have theirs. Their key to success lies in their balanced lineup, combining seasoned veterans with promising young talents. The team management’s emphasis on teamwork, discipline, and strategic planning has played a vital role in their consistent performances.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *