Most Centuries for Bangladesh in ODI: The Best is yet to come in Bangladesh Cricket

the most centuries scorer for Bangladesh in ODI

The journey of Bangladesh in international cricket has been nothing short of remarkable. From their humble beginnings as an associate nation in 1977 to becoming a full member of the International Cricket Council with Test, one-day and now in T20 international. Bangladesh team is one of the top international cricket teams and has made significant progress over the years. They are known for their passionate and talented cricketers. Bangladesh has achieved several notable milestones in ODI cricket. They reached the quarter-final of the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2015 showcasing their ability to compete against the top teams in the world. They have also defeated prominent cricketing nations such as India, England, South Africa, and Australia in ODI matches. Still, the Bangladesh ODI Cricket team aims to further improve their rankings and make a lasting impact in global cricket. They are focusing on developing young talents, enhancing their skills, and maintaining a competitive edge. With their dedicated coaching staff and talented players, they aspire to achieve greater success in the international cricket arena.

In this article, we will explore the most Centuries Scorer for Bangladesh in ODI, highlighting their contributions and achievements.

1. Tamim Iqbal: The God of Bangladesh Cricket.

Tamim Iqbal is one of the most successful and prolific batsmen in Bangladesh cricket history. He is the only player from Bangladesh to score more than 15,000 runs in international cricket across all formats and the first Bangladeshi to score a century at Lord’s. He is known for his aggressive and elegant batting style, especially his trademark straight drive. He has scored 8357 runs, including 14 centuries and ODI career so far, making him the Most Centuries-scorer for Bangladesh in ODI format. He is also a former captain of the Bangladesh ODI team, leading them to 21 wins in 37 matches. He made his international debut in 2007 and became the captain of the ODI team in 2019. He led Bangladesh to their first-ever ODI series win over Australia in 2023. He is widely regarded as one of the best openers in the world and a legend of Bangladesh cricket.

2. Mushfiqur Rahim: Experienced and Reliable Batsman.

Mushfiqur Rahim is the most experienced and reliable batsman in the Bangladesh team. He is also a very skilled wicketkeeper who has taken more than 300 dismissals in international cricket. He has scored 7608 runs, including 09 centuries and ODI career so far, making him the Second Most Centuries-scorer for Bangladesh in ODI format. He has also captained Bangladesh in 37 ODI internationals, leading them to some memorable victories. He is known for his fighting spirit, his skillful batting, and his agility behind the stumps.

3. Shakib Al Hasan: The Master Allrounder.

Shakib Al Hasan the current captain of the Bangladesh national cricket team in all formats. He is known for his aggressive left-handed batting style in the middle order and widely regarded as one of the greatest Bangladeshi cricketers ever have on Bangladesh Cricket. Shakib Al Hasan also holds the record for the most fifty-plus scores in a single ODI World Cup edition, along with Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli. They all scored seven half-centuries in the 2023, 2003 and 2019 editions respectively. He is the first and only player in the world to be ranked as the No.1 all-rounder in all three formats of the game by the ICC. He has scored 7570 runs, including 09 centuries in ODI career so far, making him the Third Most Centuries-scorer for Bangladesh in ODI format.

4. Liton Das: The Consistent Performer

Liton Das is a talented opening batsman and a compact batsman with a good defensive technique and fair Strokeplay has made his first-class debut in October 2011 for Rangpur Division against Dhaka Division. He’d have a great first season but fought back strongly in the following season registering a century and a half-century. His career was boosted after his performances in the 2014 U-19 World Cup held in Abu Dhabi, where he scored 239 runs in just four innings. He has scored 2534 runs, including 05 centuries in ODI career so far, making him the Fourth Most Centuries-scorer for Bangladesh in ODI format. He has also played in various T20 leagues around the world, such as the Bangladesh Premier League, the Caribbean Premier League, the Pakistan Super League, and the Indian Premier League. He was recently bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders for ₹50 lakh for the 2023 Indian Premier League.

5. Mahmudullah: The Special Allrounder.

Like Jayasuriya, Pietersen, S Malik, S Smith and many more, Mahmudullah started his career as a bowler and then converted into a batsman who could bowl off-breaks. He became the first Bangladeshi World Cup centurion when he scored 103 against England at the Adelaide Oval that helped his team reach the knockout stage (Quarter Final against India) for the first time. He also scored a century against New Zealand in the 2017 Champions Trophy, helping Bangladesh reach the semi-finals for the first time. He is known for his ability to finish close limited-overs games. He has scored 5348 runs, including 04 centuries in his ODI career so far, making him the Fifth Most Centuries-scorer for Bangladesh in the ODI format.

Conclusion: These five batsmen exemplify the batting heritage of Bangladesh cricket. Their performances have not only elevated the team’s success but have also inspired a new generation of cricketers. The journey of Bangladesh cricket players in ODI formats of cricket continues, and they strive to establish themselves as a major force in international cricket.

List of Most Centuries Scorer for Bangladesh in ODI.

Tamim Iqbal2432408,35715814
Mushfiqur Rahim2652487,6081449
Shakib Al Hasan2472347,5701349
Litton Das86852,5341765
Imrul Kayes78782,4361444
Shahriar Nafees75752,2011234
Mohammad Ashraful1751683,4681093
Anamul Haque45421,2581203
Soumya Sarkar63591,7681272
Mehidy Hasan Miraz91641,2471122
Najmul Hossain Shanto39381,1301172
Sabbir Rahman66591,3331021
Nasir Hossain65521,2811001
Alok Kapali69661,2351151
Junaid Siddique54531,1961001
Rajin Saleh43431,0051081
Mehrab Hossain18184491011

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *